10th Brain Research Conference

RNA Metabolism in Neurological Disease

October 15-16, 2015 | The Westin Chicago River North, Chicago, USA

Complex network of RNA-protein interactions regulates post-transcriptional gene expression. RNA metabolism is particularly complex in neurons, involving extensive diversification of gene expression through splicing and redistribution of RNA subsets to the distant compartments where they ultimately function. In recent years, perturbation of RNA metabolism has emerged as a consistent underlying defect in certain neurological diseases, suggesting that aspects of RNA metabolism that are unique to the nervous system may also create unique vulnerabilities.

This two-day symposium organized by Paul Taylor and Fen-Biao Gao will bring together basic and clinical scientists to discuss the role of perturbed RNA metabolism in neurological diseases, including amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), frontotemporal dementia (FTD), spinal muscular atrophy (SMA), fragile X syndrome and other repeat expansion disorders.

Topics will include:

  • TDP-43 and FUS in the pathogenesis of ALS and FTD
  • C9ORF72 repeat expansion in neurological disorders
  • RAN translation in different repeat expansion diseases
  • FMRP and SMN
  • RNA granules and axonal transport
  • Cellular and animal models of RNA defects
  • ASO, gene therapy and other therapeutic approaches

Abstracts are invited by May 29, 2015 for oral and poster presentations at the conference to supplement the invited oral programme.

Register Now Submit Abstract View Program

Click to download apps

Conference Speakers
  • Emanuele Buratti, Italy
  • Nancy M. Bonini, USA
  • Robert H. Brown Jr, USA
  • Don Cleveland, USA
  • Thomas A. Cooper, USA
  • Ted Dawson, USA
  • Kevin Eggan, USA
  • Fen-Biao Gao, USA
  • Aaron Gitler, USA
  • Christian Haass, Germany
  • Kimberly Huber, USA
  • Clotilde Lagier-Tourenne, USA
  • Virginia Lee, USA
  • Leonard Petrucelli, USA
  • Joel Richter, USA
  • Jeffrey Rothstein, USA
  • James Shorter, USA
  • Laura Ranum, USA
  • Mani Ramaswami, Ireland
  • J. Paul Taylor, USA
  • Charles Thornton, USA

Conference Chairman

  • J. Paul Taylor, USA
  • Fen-Biao Gao, USA
Supporting Publications

Organised by